Performing updates via notification
By using update notifications, you can send an explicit one-time update request to selected devices to be evaluated with the next connection. The devices then are updated to the image configured in the Scout firmware configuration.
Select a device, an OU, a Dynamic Client Group or devices in the All devices window. .
On the context menu, click Notifications > Initiate firmware update...
The Firmware update notification dialog is shown.
Specify whether you want to inform users, and if they are allowed to cancel the command.
For further information, see Performing updates via command.
To format the system partition before performing the update, select the relevant option.
Confirm the notification and confirmation.
The notifications for firmware updates are defined for the relevant devices.
For each device, in the Properties window, the Update notification field shows the value Activated.
If the Update notification field in the Properties window is hidden, click to define which fields you want to show.
For the relevant devices, a firmware update notification is set. As soon as a device restarts and reconnects to Scout, it receives an update request1 and the firmware update notification is automatically deleted.
Depending on how you have configured the notification and the device configuration in Firmware > Reminder settings, the update is performed immediately or the user receives a system message including deferment options. For further information, see User information before update.
The update status is displayed for each device in its Properties window. For further information, see Command results and update information per device. If an update fails, no system-side efforts will be made to retry.
For devices without update partition2, an update request might be shown although an update is not required. When the user clicks the Update button, the window is closed, no update is initiated.
In the Scout Report Generator, you can filter devices by the field Image update notification.
Deleting the update notification for one or more devices
An update notification can be deleted before the firmware has been updated:
- On the context menu, click Notifications > Delete update notification.
Notifications are always set or deleted for all selected devices regardless of whether they are only available for individual devices.